Hosting/Port Forwarding Explained in BASIC AND GREAT DETAIL!

Place tutorials of any kind here. 〆(・∀・@)
- Accelevi
Forum rules
Forget-me-not.

Hosting/Port Forwarding Explained in BASIC AND GREAT DETAIL!

Postby jahob000 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:17 am

I've looked through the froums and have checked All of the other tutorials which are very good. However, there are still times where there are a few people that are lost. The purpose of this one is to attempt to give a bunch of analogies for those who are still lost or don't quite understand. I was at a complete loss myself but after hours of learning, I finally got it.

First off I AM NOT AN EXPERT AT ANY OF THIS. I do however, have a basic understanding though and will attempt to explain it the way I see it in my head. Now even though I'm no expert, I will not tell you to do anything that I'm unsure of or that is unsafe. I'm going to make this as detailed as I possibly can. Seeing as how I'm going to be breaking this tutorial down to it's most basic form, it's going to be quite lengthy. It'll have a lot of pictures underneath the spoilers button so that should help out. After all, having your own server for this games makes all this hard work worth it. If I leave anything out, just lemme know.

First thing's first. This website will be your BEST friend throughout this tutorial http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/ It has Port Forwarding guides for nearly every make and model of routers. However don't follow their guide completely. I will explain why in a minute.

(For those of you that have done this tutorial and are experiencing problems, please look near the bottom for troubleshooting.)

STEP 1.) FINDING YOUR YOUR ROUTER

Ok, so now we're gonna need to get some information from your router so we can move forward.
1.) Router make and model. This can be found in your manual or on the router itself. (I.E. Linksys(Make) BEFSR41(Model))